Cravings with Hamilton, Davidson, Wilks and York

Wow!  I have been slacking in my duties of noting the books I’ve read lately.  I have torn through quite a few books in the last almost two months as well as completed a short story which I am submitting to a couple of contests.

The first book on the line up was a compilation of four short stories by Laurell K. Hamilton, MaryJanice Davidson, Eileen Wilks and Rebecca York (alias for Ruth Glick).

Hamilton’s story is called Blood Upon my Lips.  I have read the fairy princess series by Hamilton and really enjoyed them so I expected a good read.  I don’t like to bash authors, especially ones that have written books that I liked so I won’t say anything on that accept that the story was very sexually oriented and when I finished it, it gave me no closure and left me with more questions than answers leaving me feeling dissatisfied.  But, her other books were great.

Davidson’s story is called Dead Girls Don’t Dance.  I don’t know that I have read Davidson before.  The story was about a young vampire who really just wanted to end her life and then an odd circumstance brings her to her pre-vamp college crush.  The story gets odd after that and yet stayed light and interesting.  I enjoyed it but not enough to run out and find other books by her although, I may do that eventually anyway!

Wilks’ story is called Originally Human.  I thought it was great.  It has a human turned succubus and an alien in human form that bond together and have to go on the run due to the sensitive nature of the alien and the fact that he is wanted desperately by some very powerful otherworldly beings.  It was good enough that I immediately ordered the series of books that enter briefly into the story.  More on those in a following entry.

Last we have York with Burning Moon.  This was about a werewolf whose mate was murdered and he was two years into tracking her killer.  It also has a psychic young blind woman who runs a bed and breakfast in the city where the werewolf tracked the killer to.  I won’t say much more without ruining the story but it was a nice read.  I went ahead and ordered York’s novels too which I will blog about later.

Overall, if you enjoy romance fantasy, this will probably be a nice read for you.  For me it was an effort to find some new authors to read and I am always learning what I like and don’t like so that I can write what I like.

3 thoughts on “Cravings with Hamilton, Davidson, Wilks and York

  1. LCD says:

    You find it hard to find new authors to read about? Have you ever heard of Fantastic Fiction? If they have an author you look for, there is (if my memory is correct) a list around the bottom of the page that has other authors you might like, or something along those lines. 🙂

Leave a Reply

